You are here: Home / Community Discussion / Forum / RPG for Education / New after-school T-RPG program in Nashville TN

New after-school T-RPG program in Nashville TN

by Josh Unruh last modified Dec 31, 2016 02:10 AM
Up to RPG for Education

New after-school T-RPG program in Nashville TN

Posted by Josh Unruh at October 11. 2016

Hello there!

Firstly, I wanted to thank Mr. Hawke Robinson on all of the great work put in on this project.  I can see that it has been a life-long passion, and I for one, completely support, and share in your vision for using T-RPGs for educational and therapeutic benefits.

To introduce myself, my name is Josh Unruh, a 32 year old game-master living in Nashville Tennessee.  I've been playing T-RPGs for two decades, and have dreamed of building a community in my area to share these awesome games with local youth (specifically at risk youth, though all would be welcome).  I, as well as many of my gaming colleagues have first hand experience at the power of cooperative storytelling games.  We know there is truth behind the research you've gathered here because we've all felt the profound impact of gaming in our own lives.

Myself and several other local game masters have begun the process of forming an organization with the title "The Heroes' Guild", with the intention of running after-school programs for local children.  While we are just in the infantile stages, I felt it pertinent to reach out and offer whatever we can to your research and to your community.  I have spent a fair bit of time pouring over your research documents on your site, and frankly, am using much of the information presented here in my "pitch" to help legitimize our claims of the power of these games.  We hope to return the favor in whatever way we can.